Book Review: Sunset in Central Park by Sarah Morgan

28507386Title: Sunset in Central Park

Author: Sarah Morgan

Publication Date: 30th August 2016

Format: ARC

 Love has never been a priority for garden designer Frankie Cole. After witnessing the fallout of her parents’ divorce, she’s seen the devastation an overload of emotion can cause. The only man she feels comfortable with is her friend Matt—but that’s strictly platonic. If only she found it easier to ignore the way he makes her heart race…

Matt Walker has loved Frankie for years but, sensing how fragile she is beneath her feisty exterior, has always played it cool. But then he uncovers new depths to the girl he’s known forever and doesn’t want to wait a moment longer. He knows Frankie has secrets and has buried them deep, but can Matt persuade her to trust him with her heart and kiss him under the Manhattan sunset?

 

five stars

**I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions, as always, are my own.**

I recently discovered Sarah Morgan and I’ve been reading her books nonstop for the past week. Her book Sleepless in Manhattan has quickly taken a place in my all time contemporary high romance favorites (read all about it here) and when I got accepted to review Sunset in Central Park I could hardly believe my luck. However, as excited as I was to read it, I was filled with trepidation because this book had a lot of high expectations to live up to. But I shouldn’t have worried. Because Morgan has done it again. This book was perfect perfect perfect and the whole cast of characters have quickly burrowed themselves in my heart. They are so believable and real and endearing and I can easily imagine myself being friends with them.

Sunset in Central Park stars Frankie, who isn’t your regular romance book heroine. She doesn’t believe in love and isn’t too worried about her single status. I found myself a lot in her. How she can’t say her feelings freely, her disbelief in love, her loyalty to her friends but still not telling them all her secrets. I connected with her a whole lot and I often found myself nodding along her train of thoughts. The hero, Matt, is my ideal man. He was so achingly sweet and caring and he wasn’t afraid to say his feelings and emotions and I appreciated that more than I can say. I find that books, romance ones especially, tend to overlook that men have emotions. They always portray men as feelingless creatures and they’re not. Sure, females tend to be more emotional, but that doesn’t mean men are made of stone.

Morgan’s storytelling abilities are some of the best I’ve come across and she does dialogue especially well. While the banter between Frankie and Matt was exactly on spot, I loved the interaction between all the characters. There was this scene where Matt was having a conversation with Eva (Frankie and Paige’s BFF trio’s completion) over her perfect man and it was just so, so real and heartfelt I started crying.

Eva’s book is next and it’s the book I’m most excited about. I hope I love it even more than I loved this one 🙂

Join the Discussion

