Short Book Review: Be Light Like a Bird by Monika Schröder

cover85839-medium
Title: Be Light Like a Bird

Author: Monika Schröder

Publication Date: September 1st 2016

Format: ARC 

After the death of her father, twelve-year-old Wren finds her life thrown into upheaval. And when her mother decides to pack up the car and forces Wren to leave the only home she’s ever known, the family grows even more fractured. As she and her mother struggle to build a new life, Wren must confront issues with the environment, peer pressure, bullying, and most of all, the difficulty of forgiving those who don’t deserve it. A quirky, emotional middle grade novel set in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula, Be Light Like a Bird features well-drawn, unconventional characters and explores what it means to be a family — and the secrets and lies that can tear one apart.

 

3 stars and a half

**I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions, as always, are my own.**

This is the first time I choose to read a book that has a sad premise. I’m a self proclaimed fantasy lover but I pick up historical and contemporary romance books a lot too, so as you can probably tell, I like happy things. However, as I was flicking through Netgalley, I was attracted by this book’s title, and despite it not sounding like unicorns and ponies, I decided to request it. And boy am I glad I did! Be Light Like a Bird was heartfelt, true, and a bit sad but not as heavy as I feared it would be. We got to see a lot of the aspects of Wren’s life and not just her grief and I think that that’s what made the book enjoyable to read. Schröder did a good job depicting what it means to be in middle school: the peer pressure, wanting to fit in so bad that you accept bullying, feeling that your true self won’t get you any friends and then the joy of finding someone who gets you.

On the other end of the spectrum, for some reason I wasn’t terribly attached to  Wren. I obviously cared for her and wanted her to stop being sad and to learn to forgive, but I wasn’t attached to her, or any of the other characters for that matter.

 

Join the Discussion

