Book Review: Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi

28110143

Title: Furthermore

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Publication Date: August 30th 2016

Format: Hardback

There are only three things that matter to twelve-year-old Alice Alexis Queensmeadow: Mother, who wouldn’t miss her; magic and color, which seem to elude her; and Father, who always loved her. The day Father disappears from Ferenwood he takes nothing but a ruler with him. But it’s been almost three years since then, and Alice is determined to find him. She loves her father even more than she loves adventure, and she’s about to embark on one to find the other.
But bringing Father home is no small matter. In order to find him she’ll have to travel through the mythical, dangerous land of Furthermore, where down can be up, paper is alive, and left can be both right and very, very wrong. Her only companion is a boy named Oliver whose own magical ability is based in lies and deceit-and with a liar by her side in a land where nothing is as it seems, it will take all of Alice’s wits (and every limb she’s got) to find Father and return home to Ferenwood in one piece. On her quest to find Father, Alice must first find herself-and hold fast to the magic of love in the face of loss.

five stars

The Plot: Summarized

Alice must travel to dangerous Furthermore accompanied by Oliver, the boy who used to bully her, to bring her father home.

Thoughts

Mafi’s Shatter Me series is one of my favorite series ever. Her style is my favorite sort of style and her prose reads like a dream and the emotions and feelings it evokes are unbelievable. This book, while it does all three of the above, is nothing like Shatter Me. The prose is different and not flowery in the least, and it’s clearly targeted at a different sort of audience. Not that this book is solely for middle graders, because it’s not, hello I’m a senior undergrad student and I really enjoyed it, but because it doesn’t have the maturity that Shatter Me did. This one is whimsical and colorful and strange and you’ll really, reaaallllyyyyyy, need to stretch your imagination to encompass it all but that somehow makes the whole experience even more enjoyable and special.

Character Analysis

Alice

Alice was brilliant. She did what she wanted and followed no rule book and boy was she undisciplined but that just added to her charm. I loved seeing her grow into herself, slowly accepting her differences, and building her relationship with Oliver (which is one one of the book’s best aspects) after their rocky start.

Oliver

In the beginning, I was as weary towards him as Alice was but he slowly crept under my and Alice’s defenses. I loved how we got to know what shaped him into the way he was as that made me understand his behavior, but certainly not excuse it. Instead of making me dislike him though, this made him three dimensional and well rounded.

Bottom Line

Such a fun book! I loved the topsy turviness of it and how it forced me to bend my mind and imagination. I think there’s a second book? If so, give me now.

Recommended to: Those who want a magical book set in a magical land where everything is possible.
2 thoughts on “Book Review: Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi

  1. NightGirl October 13, 2016 / 10:52 pm

    I have a copy of this but haven’t picked it up yet. I’ll admit I never finished the last book of the Shatter Me series so I’ve been hesitant to read this. But great review!

    • Jinan October 18, 2016 / 9:52 am

      aw it makes me sad that you didn’t like the Shatter Me series but I guess we can’t all have the same taste! however, I do think that you should give this book a try because as I said in my review they are very different 😀 Thank you xx

Join the Discussion

