Book Beginning: The Best Possible Answer by E. Katherine Kottaras

jinansbookistry

This is a Friday Book Beginning post, a weekly meme hosted at Rose City Reader. For more info, click here

A girl is traveling home from the AP physics exam on her bicycle. She is traveling at x m/s and can stop at a distance d m with a maximum negative acceleration. If the bicycle travels at 2x m/s, which of the following statements are true?
(A) The girl is so stressed, exhausted, and overworked that she falls asleep while riding her bike.
(B) That’s right; she loses momentum after taking a three-hour exam on the laws of gravity.
(C) The girl won’t know for a few months how she did on the actual test.
(D) But it couldn’t have been good, considering she couldn’t get from point A to point B without falling on her face.
(E) All of the above.

You know the answer.
(Hint: Test-prep research shows you should actually always pick E.)

AP Physics Exam: Sample Question, The Best Possible Answer by E. Katherine Kottaras

This is an ARC actually and I feel really, really meh about it. Characters are acting as if they’re 12 instead of 17 and Viviana’s (that’s the MC) best friend is so annoying. Idk if I’ll be continuing it 😦

10 thoughts on “Book Beginning: The Best Possible Answer by E. Katherine Kottaras

  1. Bev Bouwer October 21, 2016 / 8:28 am

    Sorry it’s meh. I have to say that beginning reads more like a magazine article or blog post than a novel.

    Here’s Commonwealth by Ann Patchett.

    • Jinan October 22, 2016 / 11:12 am

      Yeah it fell flat to me as well 😦

  2. Karen (@wellreadpirate) October 21, 2016 / 9:49 am

    I’m a firm believer in not wasting my time on meh books. Sorry this is one of them!

    • Jinan October 22, 2016 / 11:13 am

      me too! Though I guess I’m going to give it one more chance it being an ARC and alllll.

  3. Sandra Nachlinger October 21, 2016 / 10:37 am

    How disappointing! There are so many excellent books that it’s a waste of time to read one that isn’t appealing to you. Of course, maybe it will get better. I hope so!
    My Friday post features The Midwife of Hope River.

    • Jinan October 22, 2016 / 11:15 am

      I completely agree with you! Wayy too many books! I’ll probably read a few more chapters before deciding what to do.

  4. Maria October 22, 2016 / 4:43 am

    That is a very strange beginning and I can totally understand why you feel meh about it – here’s my Friday meme

    • Jinan October 22, 2016 / 11:16 am

      I guess the author was trying to make it unique but it didn’t really work :/

    • Jinan October 22, 2016 / 11:17 am

      Hope you like it if you pick it up, Lauren 😀

Join the Discussion

