Book Review: Manga Classics: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë, SunNeko Lee, and Stacy King

26591771

Title: Manga Classics: Jane Eyre

Author: Charlotte Brontë, SunNeko Lee, and Stacy King

Publication Date: 15 November 2016

Format: ARC 

As an orphaned child, Jane Eyre is first cruelly abused by her aunt, then cast out and sent to a charity school. Though she meets with further abuse, she receives an education, and eventually takes a job as a governess at the estate of Edward Rochester. Jane and Rochester begin to bond, but his dark moods trouble her. When Jane uncovers the terrible secret Rochester has been hiding, she flees and finds temporary refuge at the home of St. John Rivers. Charlotte Bronte’s classic tale of morality and social criticism takes on an entirely new life in this beautiful Manga Classic adaptation of Jane Eyre.

4 stars

**I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions, as always, are my own.**

Disclaimer: Originally I had given this book 2.5 stars but then I thought that that would be really unfair because it’s not the manga that I didn’t like, but the story itself.

This was my first (and last) time reading Jane Eyre. I’m just not big on classics in general and Jane Eyre is, only like, one of the most known classics out there???? I always promised myself I’d read it (and every other classic) but always scoffed at it, changed my mind, and ended up buying something else at the bookstore. And for good reason, it seems. While the art here is gorgeous (gorgeous!), the dialogue snappy and flowy and—from what little I knew of Jane Eyre before reading the manga—sticking really close to the original (the reasons behind the four star rating), I just didn’t like the story. Jane was overly dramatic and, at times, really ridiculous and overall I found the book to be too preachy. I understand that people during that era were extremely religious (and there’s nothing wrong with that; I’m religious myself) but really, justifying madness with religion and God like Brontë did with St John Rivers? I didn’t like that at all. And maybe there are hidden themes and messages behind that but I didn’t catch on them and am not ready to read the book again to get a better glance.

Join the Discussion

