Book Review: Ten Thousand Skies Above You (Firebird #2) by Claudia Gray

25005208 Title: Ten Thousand Skies Above You

Author: Claudia Gray

Publication Date: November 3rd 2015

Format: Audiobook 

Ten thousand worlds. Ten thousand enemies. One love.

Marguerite Caine has done the impossible, traveling to alternate dimensions with the Firebird—the brilliant invention of her parents, her boyfriend, Paul, and their friend Theo. But she has also caught the attention of enemies willing to kidnap, blackmail, and even kill to use the Firebird for themselves.

When Paul’s soul is splintered into four pieces—pieces that are trapped within Pauls in other dimensions—Marguerite will do anything, and travel anywhere, to save him. But the price of his safe return is steep. If she doesn’t sabotage her parents in multiple universes, Paul will be lost forever.

Unwilling to sacrifice her family, Marguerite enlists the brilliant Theo to help. The two forge a plan to save Paul and the Firebird, but succeeding means outsmarting a genius and risking not only their lives but also the lives of their counterparts in every other dimension.

Their mission takes them to the most dangerous universes yet: a war-torn San Francisco, the criminal underworld of New York City, and a glittering Paris where another Marguerite hides a shocking secret. Each leap brings Marguerite closer to saving Paul—but her journey reveals dark truths that lead her to doubt the one constant she’s found between the worlds: their love for each other.

five stars

The Plot: Summarized

Triad splinter Paul’s soul to get Marguerite to work with them.

Thoughts

The speed at which I’ve been going through this series is unbelievable. Usually I’m not a series person and I end up dropping the series after reading the first book but this is so not the case here. This series, along with ACOTAR, are my life right now. MY. LIFE. I’m so, so addicted to them it’s ridiculous. My phone wallpaper is an ACOMAF fanart and if I can find a fanart for this it’d definitely end up as my lock background.

#imnotsurethisishealthy

#nvmitsdefinitelynothealthy

I just don’t understand why these books aren’t more popular. Why aren’t there people fangirling over them left and right? Why? They are so epic and so great and holy shit the third book is out today (today as in the day I’m writing this review) and I’M SO STOKED HOLYYY SHITTTTT.

Okay okay I’ll start reviewing the book now, I swear.

Ten Thousand Skies Above You was just as good the first book. It’s adventure packed and filled with rich colors and exquisite details. It filled my heart until I felt the seams begin to unravel before it broke it with that horrific ending.

I still shudder whenever I remember it. It left me shaking, honest to God.

Character Analysis

Marguerite

Marguerite’s journey to gather the splinters of Paul’s soul forced her to grow up and to change her view on many things. Seeing her evolve and change for the better just put the biggest smile on my face. Oh God, Marguerite, I don’t know how I’m going to let you go.

Paul

(Paul, Paul, Paul. You still cause my ovaries to explode. Just sayin.)

This book doesn’t pick right off where the last one finished. Some time had passed and we start the book with Marguerite following Paul’s firebird signal after his soul had been splintered. Because of that, we don’t get to see much of our Paul throughout the book, but we do get to see the Paul from other dimensions so it’s not too bad. We also get to learn about his past and why he’s so closed up about his family life.

Theo

I liked Theo a lot more in this book. He redeemed himself even though technically he had done nothing wrong but seeing him stick with Marguerite and doing his best to help her really warmed my heart.

Bottom Line

Book 3, I need you desperately. I NEED MORE PAUL AND MARGUERITE. I NEED A HAPPY ENDING.

Recommended to: Those who loved the first book and need more of sexy Paul.
Join the Discussion

