Book Review: Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1) by Leigh Bardugo

23437156

Title: Six of Crows

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Publication Date: September 29th 2015

Format: Paperback 

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…
A convict with a thirst for revenge
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager
A runaway with a privileged past
A spy known as the Wraith
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes
Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

4 stars
The Plot: Summarized

Kaz and his unlikely crew are recruited for the deadly job of stopping a dangerous drug from taking over their world.

Thoughts

If you’re part of the YA reading community, you’ve probably most definitely heard of this book. You’d also know how highly sung it is. On the other hand, if you’ve been following me for any length of time, you know that me and hyped book, nuh uh, don’t click. So imagine my shock and absolute delight when I picked this book up and couldn’t stop thinking about the characters. Imagine my shock when I wrote Kaz’s name in looped handwriting over my wrist with a heart next to it (yes I actually did this). This book, while it hasn’t snatched My-Favorite-Book-of-all-Time title from My Unfair Godmother, is bloody fantastic and engaging and thrilling. Bardugo reminded me of my love for the magic filled Grisha-verse and for high fantasy as a whole because while I love high fantasy (it’s my fav genre actually) I don’t get to read it as much as I’d like because so many authors get it so wrong. If you’re a high fantasy lover like me but haven’t give Bardugo a chance yet, then please do! You won’t regret it.

There is quite a lot of world building in this one which is natural in the first book of a high fantasy series, but you don’t really get tired of it or skim through it. Bardugo describes and explains everything in a fun way that you don’t feel like she’s just throwing information at you. No, she makes the world building a part of the characters’s history and when you get a glimpse of their lives you understand how things work.

The character growth and bonding was really nice to see. At the beginning I wasn’t too sure about how I’ll feel about the six characters and how they’ll click together but once they were thrown through dangerous situations and we got to know them bit by bit, it was easy to get attached to them.

Character Analysis

Kaz & Inej

I loved Kaz and Inej. LOVED them. They were my favorite points of views to read and oh my God Kaz can you please have some more character growth and tell Inej that you love her? Please?

Matthias and Nina

While Inej and Kaz are my absolute favorite, I adored these two as well. I got attached to them the more time passed and by the end of the book they had etched their place in my heart forever.

Jesper

This is the first time where I didn’t like the joker of the group the most. Usually those are my fav (Lucien from ACOTAR for example ❤ ❤ ❤ ) but that wasn’t the case here and I haven’t figured out why yet.

Wylan

Wylan grew on me.

Okay that sounded a bit weird.

What I meant to say is that I started out feeling meh towards him but his bravery and courage earned him points.

Bottom Line

This book ticked so many of my high fantasy must-haves checklist and I’m so glad for that. Dear Leigh Bardugo, oh please please please don’t destroy me in the second book. I’m going to buy myself a copy as soon as possible.

Recommended to: High fantasy lovers who want books filled with adventure and heart stopping moments.

 

 

One thought on “Book Review: Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1) by Leigh Bardugo

  1. Bunny May 4, 2017 / 12:34 pm

    Wow Opencog looks very interesting, thanks for telling me about that. I’m not a good enough C++ programmer to contribute, but I do have an idea for a way computer scientists can potentially make lots of money and fund their projects. In fact it's something I've worked on myself but don't have all the necessary skills for. I'm talking about *cough* poker bots *cough* Just something to think about. I did not say this…I was not here…One last thing: any word on when your book &q;Boutuilding Better Minds" is going to be released?

Join the Discussion

