Book Beginning: The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

jinansbookistry

This is a Friday Book Beginning post, a weekly meme hosted at Rose City Reader. For more info, click here.

It was late winter in northern Rus’, the air sullen with wet that was neither rain nor snow.

1. Frost, The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

I cannot tell you how much I’m enjoying this book. It’s one of my favorite genres, myths and legends combination and retelling, and oh, reading it is just a pleasure. The writing is lyrical and magical and intoxicating and today I’m not dropping it from my hand before I finish it.

8 thoughts on “Book Beginning: The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

    • Jinan January 15, 2017 / 4:08 pm

      Glad I managed to capture your attention! I hope you’re enjoying what you’re reading too xx

  1. Roberta January 14, 2017 / 3:39 am

    Your description of the book is lovely. It’s amazing how many books mention weather in the first line.

    • Jinan January 15, 2017 / 4:09 pm

      Aw thank you! And yes! I noticed that too. Personally, I won’t complain as long as they’re interesting 😉

  2. Roberta January 14, 2017 / 3:42 am

    Oh yes, I love your blog header. The nature prints are awesome.

    • Jinan January 15, 2017 / 4:10 pm

      Thank you xx

    • Jinan January 15, 2017 / 4:10 pm

      I think it deserves the hype! It’s really captivating.

Join the Discussion

