Book Review: A Million Worlds with You (Firebird #3) by Claudia Gray

29505452

Title: A Million Worlds with You

Author: Claudia Gray

Publication Date: November 1st 2016

Format: Audiobook 

Ever since she used the Firebird, her parent’s invention, to cross through alternate dimensions, Marguerite has been at the center of a cross-dimensional feud. Now she has learned that the evil Triad Corporation plans to destroy hundreds of universes, using their ultimate weapon: another dimension’s Marguerite who is wicked, psychologically twisted, and always one step ahead.
Even though her boyfriend Paul has always been at Marguerite’s side, the Triad’s last attack has left him a changed man, and he may never be the same again. Marguerite alone must stop Triad and prevent the destruction of the multiverse. It’s a battle of the Marguerites . . . and only one can win.
In the epic conclusion to the sweeping series that kicked off with A Thousand Pieces of You, fate and family will be questioned, loves will be won and lost, and the multiverse will be forever changed.

4 stars and a half

The Plot: Summarized

Marguerite has to go through one final battle against her evil counterpart to save the entire multiverse.

Thoughts

Let me start by saying that I finished this book on the 20th of November, 2016.

Yes, 2016.

To be honest, I don’t remember my exact thoughts and feelings on every part of this book. Sure, I can sit here for while and sing it praises. I can go on and on. But that wouldn’t terribly honest of me. I remember the events quite clearly, yes, but for some reason my Evernote doesn’t have a note on my thoughts on this book.

So, dear reader, here’s what I remember.

A Million Worlds with You picks up directly where Ten Thousand Skies above You ended. And thank God for that. Because if you’ve read it, you’ll know that it ended in the cruelest cliffhanger of all time. So yes, as I was saying, this one picks right up and things (as usual) quickly escalate and shit gets real. And that’s what I love about these books so much, and I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this in a previous review or not, but they just jump straight into the action. You don’t have to sit twiddling your thumbs and waiting for the plot to  pick up. We get to see a lot of the other universes and counterparts and there were so many things that had me gasping, widening my eyes, and also completely melting into a puddle of goo, all because of Claudia Grey’s brilliant storytelling. She spins the whole plot around you and you just never get bored. As you’re reading (or listening as it was in my case) and you flip the last page in a chapter, the only thought in your mind is, ‘What adventure is she going to throw me in next?’

There were some things that weren’t up to my liking, though, and that’s why the rating isn’t five full stars. I unfortunately don’t remember what those things. Blame my memory.

Character Analysis

Marguerite

As usual, Marguerite was my favorite character in the book. There’s just something about a main character who’s flawed yet acknowledges it as well as scared yet does the shit that needs to be done.

Wicked

I don’t know what this says about my character but I actually (in a very weird and twisted way) liked her. I don’t mean that I wanted her to win and do all her evil shit to people, because I didn’t. What I mean’t to say that it’s like how I feel about Voldemort. I think he’s interesting and I love to ponder abut his complex character but I obviously don’t cheer on him to torture and kill people.

Paul

Paul, how I love thee despite being an idiot.

On a more serious note, throughout the beginning of the book all I wanted to do was to shake sense into him so he can stop being such an asshole but then once we saw the brain scan I calmed down and sort of understood where he was coming from.

Theo

Once again, Theo doesn’t make it on my list of favorite characters but I didn’t mind him so much. He made me laugh, and in between all the craziness, I really appreciated that.

Bottom Line

I really enjoyed reading A Million Worlds with You, and while it wasn’t my favorite book of the three, it was still a fantastic way to wrap up a series that I’ll forever remember.

Recommended to: Those who love the idea of a multiverse and plots that will have you guessing along, and especially to those who have read the first two books.
Join the Discussion

