Book Review: Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

26078192

Title: Finding Audrey

Author: Sophie Kinsella

Publication Date: June 9th 2015

Format: Audiobook 

An anxiety disorder disrupts fourteen-year-old Audrey’s daily life. She has been making slow but steady progress with Dr. Sarah, but when Audrey meets Linus, her brother’s gaming teammate, she is energized. She connects with him. Audrey can talk through her fears with Linus in a way she’s never been able to do with anyone before. As their friendship deepens and her recovery gains momentum, a sweet romantic connection develops, one that helps not just Audrey but also her entire family.
4 stars

The Plot: Summarized

Audrey, along with her family and a bit of help from Linus, battle everyday hurdles to get through her anxiety.

Thoughts

This book, you guys! This book! I loved it! The characters, the way it’s written, everything!

I had serious high hopes for this book. It’s the first book I’ve come across that not only discusses anxiety but it’s the main character who suffers from it and for the longest time I stared at it sitting in my audiobook library. I so wanted to get to it but at the same time was terrified as I didn’t want to be let down because hello this is Kinsella. Kinsella. The contemporary Queen.

But now that I think about it, I don’t know why I was so worried. Because hello this is Kinsella. Kinsella. The contemporary Queen.

😉

Here’s a list of what I loved about this book in no particular order,

  • It didn’t rosy up anxiety. It didn’t make it sound less serious than it is and I (and all the anxiety havers who read it, I’m sure) appreciated that.
  • The way Audrey speaks is so relatable and real. She hits on all the things that I’m self-conscious about. On all the things I obsess on. And because of that, I understood her and what she was going through.
  • While I did appreciate Linus’s efforts, and I do admit that he played a role in helping Audrey get through her anxiety, he shouldn’t be looked at as if he’s the reason she got better. People shouldn’t think that falling in love suddenly cures you of all your issues and I’m so bloody glad Kinsella made that clear.
  • That coconut ice cream scene is the best thing ever.
  • Finding Aurdey is written in both a present tense timeline and film transcripts that Audrey’s psychiatrist, Dr. Sarah, tells her to film. I love books written in more than one format and what made this one even more special is how the audiobook translated these two formats. Throughout the main plot line, one narrator enacted all the characters and she did a fantastic job. She did all these different accents and ways of speech for each character and even though I found it to be brilliant, I enjoyed the film transcripts even more. They had more than one narrator in the film transcripts and that worked so, so well. I especially loved Frank’s (that’s Audrey’s brother) voice actor. I have a bit of a crush on him, actually. 😛

Character Analysis

Audrey’s Parents

I loved how supportive they were. Audrey’s Mum continuously made me crack up and because of that she’s probably my favorite character.

Linus

I really liked Linus. He was such fun to have around and his interactions with Audrey were super adorable. I wanted to hear more about his grandmother but since this book is mainly about Audrey and her family, I can see why his personal life wasn’t tackled too.

Bottom Line

I’m so glad that this book lived up to my expectations!

Recommended to: Those with anxiety who want to read a book where they find themselves portrayed but still want a light, fluffy read. And to those who don’t have anxiety but are interested to know more about it.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

  1. Jupiter Brown February 6, 2017 / 2:01 am

    Nice! It’s always good to hear about books that talk about mental health issues in a realistic way. You say “fluffy.” About how fluffy? Like, beach read fluff or good-for-14-year-olds fluff?

    • Jinan February 8, 2017 / 6:56 pm

      It’s fluffy in the way that while yes, Audrey’s life isn’t easy and she passes through some rough spots and panic attacks, you still giggle and feel happy while reading the book. i.e. it’s not a depressing read 😀

Join the Discussion

